The Growth Zone

They say, there’s no growth in your comfort zone, and no comfort in your growth zone. Here’s hoping I’m growing.
This week, I faced a new opportunity at work. A road trip. Several days out of town, short notice, strange bedfellows. “I know you probably have to check on some things, can you let me know in the next fifteen minutes?”

I stood in the stairwell, gaping at my phone, my thumb tracing a pattern to unlock my phone. I stared at my call log, text messaging history for fourteen and a half minutes before I walked back into the office, grinning from ear to ear.

I told bossman I was in. We high-fived.

I hadn’t called anyone. I hadn’t checked in with anyone but my personal calendar. I didn’t need to. The grin wasn’t about the opportunity, or the possibilities, or the money. It was about not needing to worry.

Yeah, this is going to make the next couple of weeks busy for me. But I never wound up anywhere interesting by being content only biting off what I already knew I could chew.

Leave a Reply

