Getting Around To It

In a world where being busy is equated with being successful, the luxury of free time can have its edges.

Not so long ago, I was a pretty busy lady. Four jobs, two volunteer posts, two roommates, two felines, and a pile of dirty dishes and dusting which followed me everywhere I went, including across town when I moved out of the house of feline and human roommates and into a new place with two humans and zero felines. It has a glorious kitchen. All the better to pile filthy dishes on every available surface.

Four part-time jobs became one full-time job and one part-time job, then just the one full-time job, and suddenly I had days off again. Days plural, more than one every month, then more than one every week. The hamster wheel finally started to slow down.

I started to recover from my too many jobs period, but all the things that bothered me about it, never feeling like I could catch up, feeling like there weren’t enough hours in the day, they didn’t seem anywhere near as fixed as I thought they would be. The solution, the thing that was always over the next molehill or mountain, the green grass, just never seemed to materialize. I never seemed to get around to it.

There was always another task, another obligation, another demand from one direction or another. Something getting in the way. Urgency became importance, and it lead to an ongoing pattern of panic broken by only slightly less panic. The hamster wheel may have slowed, but I was still on it.

Then the hamster wheel stopped cold.

Everything is getting shaken up anyways, everything is changing.  Living spaces, working spaces, priorities. What better time to separate urgency from importance? What better time to re-evaluate priorities and put the energy into the stuff I decide is important, not just the stuff that’s urgent.

Leave a Reply

