The More Things Stay The Same…

“Okay, those stares, I noticed.” I mentioned to my friend as we walked past a handful of gawking teenaged boys.

I’ve been in Malaysia for a few days now, and I’ve gotten stared at a lot. Like many assumed inconveniences, this bothers the friend I’m staying with far more than it bothers me. Dude, I have pasty skin, bright red hair, and more often than not some article of tie-dyed clothing on my person: I stick out like a sore thumb.

That said, I look a lot less out of place here in Sabah than I did in Korea. Even though I don’t look like anybody from here, people in an ethnically and culturally diverse country like Malaysia are more used to the idea that not everyone they encounter on a daily basis will look just like them. And the absence of that assumption I felt so often in Korea, that I was somehow inconveniencing Korea at large by virtue of my very not-Korean presence, is like a drink of cool water in 30 degree heat, which I really don’t mind having returned to.

I’m still getting stared at, I’m still spending every waking moment of my existence sweating, I still have very little idea what’s going on in the conversations around me, I still have no clue what I’m going to do in a few weeks when I crash-land on my parents sofa yet again, but I really don’t care. A lot of my difficulties and inconveniences and worries and frustrations from Korea are still true in Malaysia, but they’re so much easier to manage here.

Being on holiday suits me.

Leave a Reply

