Where in the World?

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about traveling.

Some might say that I’m already traveling. I live in a country far from where I grew up, far from what I know and understand.

But I live here. It’s not the same as traveling because I’ve been here for four months, and will be for another eight. I live here. Sure, I travel to the surrounding cities, but I don’t count that as travel any more than I counted going to cottage country as “traveling”.

I’ve been thinking about my next adventure. What it might be, where it might be, and what it might do to me. It’s not a secret that travel changes you. It changes the way you think about yourself, where you come from, and your place in the world. Lately it seems that my place in the world has become trying to corral a handful of small children and beg, bribe, or cajole them into filling out page after page of a workbook.

While there is no question in my mind that this is a valuable experience, and goodness knows I’m learning something (maybe more than the kids I’m trying to teach) as always happens to me once I’m a few months into another temporary living arrangement, I’m beginning to look at the next step. In a smaller sense, I’m trying to decide how I’m going to spend my extremely limited vacation days while I’m here. Cambodia, Thailand, Indonesia, and Japan, to name just a few, are all closer and more accessible than they’ve been from anywhere I’ve ever lived before, and the limits of my vacation time (not to mention my inclination to travel on a shoestring, which even I usually call “being a cheapskate”) allow me the opportunity to explore maybe two of them. Decisions, decisions.

In the grander sense, when I’m frustrated and aggravated by the job I’m doing or the place I’m living, ideas for what’s next come to the forefront of my thoughts, but they’re never completely forgotten. In a sense, I’m always thinking about what comes after, and how to make it happen.

I have a few ideas of my own, but I can’t have a proper fit of indecision-paralysis without at least a few more. If you (or your adventurous alter ego) are a traveler, a teacher, a student, a dreamer, a driver, a hiker, a biker, a walker, a runner, a business-bootstrapper, or an adventurer of any type (armchair travelers and vicarious adventurers welcome) I’d love to hear from you. If you’ve got suggestions for places to go or things to do, or any sage advice for how to get there (wherever “there” might turn out to be) I’m all ears.

Leave a Reply

