Secrets: Post and Otherwise

I just saw the first Post Secret card that I wish I knew the writer of.

It reads: I’d travel the world with you.

It’s a photo of the interior of an airport. A waiting room bench in the foreground, with the window and planes in the background.

I once asked someone to travel the world with me. Once. It was a counter proposal. His was that I stay where I was, with him, indefinitely. Maybe travel during the holidays. Maybe.

I should probably have spotted the end of our romance in his reaction. He laughed with genuine mirth at how ridiculous my suggestion was. “But I’ve got a good job,” He said, once he drew enough breath to form words.

By the time the initial sting wore off, our mismatch was clear, the damage done.

Since then, I’ve been wary at best about writing someone into the opposite role in my story. Not many people want the same things as I want, and I’ve never felt I had any more right to ask someone to give up what they wanted for me than anyone else ever had to ask me to give up what I wanted for them.

But behind the pragmatism, the brave face, the joking plans to terrorize the countryside armed with a motorcycle and a pair of knitting needles in my golden years, there is a drive, however ignored and forsaken, to find a partner in crime. To find someone out there who’s just as crazy about traveling as I am, and who’s crazy about me, and who I can be crazy about.

My pragmatic streak suggests quite constantly that this is probably too much to hope for. Most of the time, I remember that going solo is a preference as much as it is a necessity.

But every so often, I see something like that: a postcard from someone I wish I knew.

Of course, perhaps the person I imagine isn’t even there at all. I imagine a golden record, someone throwing a dream out into space, hoping somebody will pick it up and understand. It tickles the hopeless (and usually ignored) romantic in me.

It’s just as lovely that this writer had a very specific you in mind. It wasn’t a desperate reach for someone to connect to, it was a desperate plea to maintain an existing connection. “You want to travel the world. I’d just as soon stay at home, but I’d travel the world with you.” I have to wonder, though why it was a secret. Why they couldn’t tell the person the card was really intended for. What was stopping them?

Who knows. All I know is that I just read way too much into a post secret.

Leave a Reply

