Things I Lost While Traveling

Every time you see a “how to travel solo” or even a “how to travel” guide, it talks about all the things you risk losing when you’re traveling: how to avoid losing them and what to do if you’ve already lost them. Your dignity, your camera, your composure, your wallet, your life, your temper, your passport, your patience, your good health.

These aren’t the things I think of losing while I’m traveling. Sure, I’ve definitely lost a few: my patience, composure, and temper tend to go skipping off hand in hand when I need them most, and it’s tough to maintain any semblance of dignity while you’re doing the funky chicken in front of more than 100 people.

When I think of the things I’ve risked losing by traveling, I often think of the things I did lose, and to be honest, I don’t really miss them.

A distaste for coffee and sparkling water. While I was in Italy, I learned to like both of these things. I have no idea why it was then, or really whether it had to be in Italy, but I came home liking two things I had never liked before.

A fear of ziplines, roller coasters, and heights in general. Okay, maybe this one’s only partially gone, but that’s a far cry from being one of the major influential factors in terms of how I live my life.

A whole pile of notions about the “best way” to do just about anything. A few are still kicking around, certainly, but there have been many times when I’ve wished I could have some of the good things about places I’ve been in the new places. Seventy-five cent balls of fresh mozzarella, savoury crepes, and British squash (the juice mix, not the vegetable) jump to mind, and that’s just in the area of food.

A preconception of what constitutes a healthy breakfast, lunch, or dinner. I’ve been to places where cake was breakfast, dessert, midafternoon snack, or lunch. I’ve been to places where sausages and eggs were breakfast, lunch or dinner (some days, all three). I’ve been to places where rice, soup, and noodles were the only reasonable breakfast, and the first time I ate miso soup for breakfast, I’ll admit, I was weirded out. Don’t even get me started on where fruit and yogurt belong. Years later, it doesn’t matter what food is in my house, I can eat it any time I’m hungry. As I write this, I’m eating a cheese-flavoured cup noodle, a mug of hot chocolate, grapes, and a cookie. And it’s 8:45 am local time.

My habit of immediately saying no to new experiences. My first solo trip, I found myself exhausted and sitting in the lounge of the hostel (the first hostel I’d ever stayed in) as it was about to close fairly early in the evening. Rather than go to my room and spend the evening reading (after all, I was exhausted) I went out on a guided pub crawl, had a blast, and met other travelers, one of whom I’m still in touch with. I don’t think I was even any more tired the next day than I would have been if I’d stayed in that night.

Sure, by traveling, I risk losing a few things. Good riddance to them!

Comments
One Response to “Things I Lost While Traveling”
  1. VivianaAyre says:

    Miso soup and rice for breakfast is my dream. I was in Japan for two weeks and I loved every breakfast of it! ^~^ I just have to find good miso paste so I can start making it for myself.
    Very good post, I enjoyed it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

