Manifestos are for Marxists!

I am remarkable. Not all of the remarks are good, but that’s the nature of things. I am many things, often seemingly contradictory things. My Dad is forever on a quest to find better wine than he wants to pay for, and I am forever on a quest to find out how many once-in-a-lifetime experiences I can fit into one lifetime. Mine. It took me a long time to find out that everyone (myself included) needs goals. This particular revelation was well after both high school and the last time I saw someone who was paid to ask me what my goals were.

I’ve also learned that a fair amount of the time, unless someone is being paid to ask what your goals are, they’re a lot less concerned with your goals – and a lot more concerned with what you can do for them. I think that’s the nature of things, too.

Life is nothing without context.
Here’s my context:

I’m Canadian and I was born in 1989. I’ve just finished University and I’m about to start out on an adventure. It’s not my first adventure; I sure hope it won’t be my last. I’d never been off the North American continent until I was 12, and then I traveled around the world. If I hadn’t had the travel bug before (and I suspect I had) I sure got it on that trip. My Dad likes to say, “You girls are sure lucky: think about how many of your friends have seen and done what you have.” For a long time, I wrote it off as one of those things my Dad says just because he says them. Then I thought about it for a while, and realized that he’s completely right. I’m discovering that about an uncomfortable number of things my Dad has said before: they’re true. It’s disconcerting.

I love a lot of things: a lot of things that people tell me I can’t do. I plan to have an adventure of a life, and I plan to share the things I discover and experience. I plan to retire having never figured out what I want to be when I grow up.

Leave a Reply

